Making the jump – Codeigniter to Fuelphp

One of the issues that seems to come up for me often is the need to rapidly create a launchpad for my ideas. Usually this means some form of webpage that performs a particular function or perhaps a blog post or something creative. The problem is that creation takes time and as a university student I don’t have the time to spend fiddling around with a development environment to achieve exactly what I need.

Up until now I have used Codeigniter as my default development platform. I haven’t created any live pages as I can not afford to have a server off campus to host my “dev doodles” and my university blocks outside access into my web home web server. None the less, I have been using Codeigniter for some time now and I love the simplicity of it, and have built much of my own functionality into it. For those who do not know, Codeigniter is like the pre-made foundations to a backend of a website.

But today I ran into a realisation, like a truck bearing down on me. I have been noticing that my code it getting bloated, for example I was needing 8 lines of code to load a view instead of one. And while normally this wouldn’t bother me, I have come to the conclusion that Codeigniter is no longer performing optimally for my needs.

So I have decided to make the jump, to stop using codeigniter and start using fuelphp. Fuelphp, is a knew discovery, sort of. I have seen it before, and even viewed it’s source but until now it has been in development, only just having released its version 1.0.

Over the next few days I have decided to transform my current project, a personal cms for my dads photography from codeignier code into fuelphp code. I am hoping for a smooth transition, but we all know thats not going to happen, lifes just not that fair. And so I will document the transformation and let you know just how it works out.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

