Quick Note on fuelphp transfer.

Yesterday I blogged about the need to change the underlying framework from codeigniter to fuel. This I have discovered was a lapse in judgement due to the desire for certain pre-built functionality that is not wholly necessary for version 1. I went through fuel and come to the following conclusions.

1. Fuel (fuelphp) is a great framework. It has functionality that is incredibly desirable such as a database interaction through object relation mapping and a authentication frame (not authentication but more a model in which to build upon).

2. My current framework codeigniter, while suitable for small fast prototyping, does not have all the tools that I need to create exactly what I feel that I need they way that i want it.

3. This is the most important thing. What I desire is not what i am trying to do immediately.

My project, for those who haven’t read about what I am trying to do, is create a custom content management system, along with a set of tools, for developing large back end systems for specific clients.

Right now I am working on a prototype system. This is more of an idea implementation as it is a releasable project.

Conclusion:
For now I am going to stick with codeigniter for version 1 of my project and learn the details of fuel during the next few months for a transfer to fuel for version 2 (maybe 3 not sure yet).

Despite this I will still be post lots about my discoveries of fuel, mainly because it is new and it strikes me as the next big thing in php frameworks.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Greetings, I do believe your web site might be having web browser compatibility issues.
    Whenever I look at your web site in Safari, it
    looks fine but when opening in I.E., it has some overlapping
    issues. I simply wanted to provide you with a quick heads up!
    Apart from that, wonderful site!

    Reply
  2. I came to this same conclusion myself. While Fuel might not be that different to Codeigniter, when you’ve been developing with Codeigniter for a few years FuelPHP feels completely new and you can’t help but doubt yourself that moving to a new framework you don’t know is wrong.

    Codeigniter to me if configured correctly is still the best choice. I don’t care if I have to load a library class before I can use it. Static functions and whatnot just don’t appeal to me at present.

    Reply
  3. If you aren’t using Fuel to build your CMS then why not just use PyroCMS?

    http://pyrocms.com/

    Does everything already, and what it doesn’t do can just be a pull request instead of 3 months of development. 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks Phil. I’ll check it out.

      My main interest is in developing it for my own sake. Using the things that I learn in computer science classes, as well as just general skill building. I’ve been programming for less than a year and still need lots of practice.

      I must say I really like the work you have done on fuel, can’t wait to really get to know it better.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

